The sacral chakra is a powerful point of energy in your body. It also can be a major source of imbalance and contain internal wounds. 

That is because the sacral chakra controls our sexual impulses and emotional reactions. 

Discover the importance of sacral chakra healing, know the signs of blockages, and find ways to bring balance to this energy point by reading this guide. 

Sacral Chakra Meaning

The sacral chakra location is near the lower abdomen in the center of your pelvis in between the root and solar plexus chakra. Therefore, it is associated with sexual energy, fertility, and emotion as well as creativity and confidence. 

Physically, the sacral chakra maintains the health of reproductive organs, kidneys, liver, and bladder. It can also be the source of addiction as it relates to pleasure, not only sexual but through the other senses, particularly taste. 

The good news is that the sacral chakra is also where you turn addiction into healthy habits of eating and tantric love making. 

Fully opening this chakra will lead to intuitive creativity and a knack for enjoying life without harm to the mind, body, or soul. 

Unbalanced Energy

Since the sacral chakra is the seat of emotion having either overactive or deficient energy in this region causes serious issues. Some might be more noticeable than others and many initiate other behavior as a result. 

Signs of an Overactive Sacral Chakra

Too much energy in your second chakra leads to an unbalanced emotional state which is associated with the following habits and symptoms:

  • Codependency
  • Emotional outbursts
  • Unhealthy relationships
  • Muscle tension and cramping in the lower abdomen

Signs of a Deficient Sacral Chakra

When your sacral chakra is low on energy it usually means that there’s a blockage. This disallows energy to flow through the chakra and the rest of your body. Look for these symptoms for deficiency:

  • Low sex-drive
  • Refusal to be happy (self-loathing)
  • Inauthenticity and conformity
  • Depression and negativity
  • Irregular mental cycle
  • Bladder infections 

The consequences of both an over- and under-active sacral chakra are an unfulfilling emotional and sexual life. These conditions evolve into habitual behaviors used as an insatiable need to fill a void in your life. 

Luckily, the desire to be happy comes from the same source as the solution to be happy: inside you. By activating your sacral chakra you can bring stability to your life and have the power to break behavioral cycles. 

How to Unblock Sacral Chakra Energy

There are several ways to clear, activate, and control the sacral chakra, all of which occur through inner spiritual work. Because like everything in life, change starts within. 

Use these techniques for sacral chakra healing.

Mediation for Sacral Chakra

One of the best ways to activate your sacral chakra is to meditate on it. Use the color orange as a visual aid of cleansing. 

Pick your preferred meditation pose, close your eyes, and breathe deep using your lower abdomen. Envision an orange 6-petaled lotus flower spiraling open as a glowing white light fills its thirsty stems. 

As the spiraling continues, release the built up tension, whether from sexual oppressions, emotional baggage, childhood trauma, prolonged depression, or other related wounds.

You can use this meditation practice in conjunction with the next methods of chakra activation. 

Sacral Chakra Yoga Poses

Certain Kundalini yoga poses target the sacral chakra by opening up your hips and pelvis. These asanas also tame sexual urges and calm emotional responses.

Activating your second chakra is part of a kundalini awakening, the divine feminine energy that sits at the root chakra and rises through the other 6 chakras. 

When kundalini reaches your sacral chakra it has the potential to accelerate your awareness as a divine being. This can alter your perception of sexuality, from an act of primal pleasure to a union of interconnectivity. 

Here are a few yoga poses that activate the sacral chakra:

  • Goddess Pose (Utkata Konasana)
  • Cow Face Pose (Gomukhasana)
  • Pigeon Pose (Kapotasana)
  • Bow Pose (Dhanurasana)

While in each pose, mediate on your sacral chakra as the color orange while continuing deep breathing. 

Foods for Sacral Chakra Healing

Since your second chakra is all about pleasure, feed it right while satisfying its desire. You can do this with natural sweets like fruits. Particularly, coconut, orange, mango, strawberry, and melons will do the trick to awaken the sacral energy. 

You can also add spices like vanilla and cinnamon to your diet. 

Adding Water Elements to Your Routine

Water is the element of the sacral chakra as it is fluid like our emotions. Adding this element to your life can also help balance your second chakra’s energy. 

This can include a simple fountain or water feature in your room or patio to sit by while meditating. Or you can go to a river, steam, lake, or an ocean to emerge yourself into the healing waters. 

No matter how you incorporate water into your life, including drinking plenty of it, the effects will induce relaxation and focus to channel this powerful energy point. 

Affirmations for Sacral Chakra

Words and thoughts create the reality you see and experience. That is why they are also mechanisms for manifestation. 

Use affirmations to activate, clear, and control your sacral chakra energy. Here are a few sentences to say throughout your day either out loud or to yourself as thoughts. 

  • I deserve and desire happiness.
  • Everything I need is inside of me. 
  • My confidence shows as radiance to others and myself. 
  • I am not afraid to be intimate and express my sexual desires. 
  • I respect others and listen to their needs.
  • Energy flows through me and is projected as creativity. 
  • I will not sacrifice my boundaries purely to please others.

These affirmations can be adjusted to fit your personal journey and needs. 

Sacral Chakra Healing- A Sacred Journey

Your path to sacral chakra healing is an intimate and unique one. It won’t be the same for everyone. 

Therefore, take this guide as a tool that you can add to your own personal journal. Add, delete, and change anything that doesn’t feel comfortable. And be aware that change doesn’t happen over night. Take small steps, but remember to honor each moment as progressive growth. 

Read how to activate your 7 chakras to complete your full-body spiritual awakening. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here