Chakra meditation activates and awakens the central energy points in your body. The effects of chakra meditation are believed to provide balance to your physical, mental, and spiritual well-being.

Seven chakras spread vertically along the spine. Each point controls various functions of the body. Pranayamas or breathing exercises can assist you while you meditate on your chakras.

Root Chakra

root chakra

At the lowest point, the root chakra or Muladhara sits at the base of your spine in between your pelvis region. The root chakra is where self-empowerment and growth reside. It is the home to an energy force called kundalini. When focusing on this area during meditation, you should picture the color red. It provides balance to your skeleton structure, increases your sense of security, and boosts self-confidence. This chakra is also associated with the sense of smell, connection to material wealth, and ability to procreate. When unbalanced it can lead to greed, disillusionment, and fear.

Sacral Chakra

sacral chakra

As you move up the spine, the next point is the Swadhistana chakra. This is where the activation of your first chakra begins to form into creative inspiration. It sits in the lower stomach near the reproductive organs and is associated with fertility and a controlled sex drive. The urinary tract, kidney, liver, and bladder are also connected to this energy point. Imagine the color orange when meditating on this point. When activated, it enhances your sense of taste, ability to comprehend knowledge, and cultivate ideas. It also increases your focus as fat tissue in the stomach is converted to energy to rejuvenate brain cells. We can feel mentally stuck when this chakra is clogged.

Solar Plexus Chakra

solar plexus


The Sun Center known as the Manipura chakra is located behind the naval on the spine. After feeding your source of creativity in the Swadhistana, you become blissful and confidence in your life choices. It also supplies you with a healthy digestive system and pancreas. Meditate on the color yellow to activate this chakra. This the point that controls the sense of sight gives you vision for the future. Blockage in this reason can cause you to make rash and destructive decisions that are bad for your health and self-worth.

Heart Chakra

heart chakra

Symbolized in two opposing triangles, one representing Shiva and the other his soulmate, Shakti, the Anahata chakra is also called the heart center. Located in your chest it is a point which evokes love and expression. It is associated with the flow of air that which embraces all of life. This also controls the cardiovascular system, the lungs, and the limbs. The sense of touch through the largest organ, the skin, is enhanced when this point is active. If left blocked, it can lead to high blood pressure, heart disease, depression, and co-dependence. Concentrate on the color green to increase the flow of your heart chakra.

Throat Chakra

throat chakra

Your throat chakra or your Vishudh provides a chance to cleanse yourself. This chakra affects the thyroid and your sense of hearing. The throat is the passage point from the rest of your body to your brain, so this is where thoughts transform into speech. The vibrations are needed from this point to develop into communication skills. If blocked, you may experience moments where you cannot say what you want or express yourself properly. The color blue is seen when meditating on the throat chakra.

Third Eye Chakra

thrid eye chakra

One of the more well-known chakras is the Ajna or the third eye. It is located near the top of the spine in between the eye brows. This point provides you with a sense of intuition and knowledge beyond the physical world of the 5 senses. It controls the central nervous system, pineal gland, and pituitary gland. The third eye is your command center, so a blocked chakra here can lead to continuous poor health including headaches, low immunity, depression, and lack of sleep. Focus on the color indigo to awaken your third eye and unlock the ultimate spiritual connection to the divine.

Crown Chakra

crown chakra

Finally, at the top of your skull, the crown chakra or Sahasrara is located. It is the thousand-petal lotus since it resembles an explosion into a source of divine light and the infinite source of life. Its color is a vibrant violet. Lord Shiva sits at this point as it is the space of supreme consciousness. It is not related to any bodily functions as it has surpassed the need for the body as a vessel to existence.

When meditating, you can begin at the root chakras and slowly move up the spine to the crown. Or if you are experiencing specific blockages, you can focus on specific energy points to remove the block. Meditation to open chakras will guide you toward fulfillment of physical and mental health while lifting you toward a spiritual awakening.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here